Ivona tutors in Berlin, Germany

Ivona K.

Private tutor in Berlin, Germany

5Ivona K.

2 reviews

Education

I have two master degrees from Uni Freiburg: one is in Physics and the other one is in Renewable Energy Engineering and Management. My bachelor studies were in Physics and I competed them at Jacobs University Bremen. At the moment I am doing my PhD in solar cell research at the Helmholtz Zentrum in Berlin. I am mostly interested in tutoring in Physics and Math - subjects for which my knowledge is pretty strong. I can also help with basic inorganic chemistry as well as renewable energy technologies. My high school and university institutions were both English speaking. Thus, my English knowledge is almost to the level of a native speaker and I am able to tutor you or your child in this field as well. I can help with grammar, writing, reading, speaking, but also in English literature and spelling. I have to mention that my German speaking skills on the other hand are very poor and I do not know the scientific terminology in German. Thus, I can only tutor in English, regardless if you are interested in improving your science or English knowledge.

Experience

So far, I have tutored people in Math, Physics and English on top of the fact that I have always been helping my friends when they needed it - especially in earlier age. I like explaining concepts and helping people understand them. I believe I am patient and tolerant, so I do not get annoyed when the person does not get the concepts presented right away. SAT score: 580 Reading (National Percentile: 75%), 700 Math (National Percentile: 93%), 600 Writing (National Percentile: 82%) - Total: 1880 out of 2400; exam taken at the end of 2010/ beginning of 2011. The National Percentile shows that you were better than X% of the people who took the exam at the same time as you did. TOEFL score: ibT - 113 out of 120; exam taken: January, 2014 Other Jobs/Working experience: 3 internships in the field of Physics - one at the University of Heidelberg at the Institute for Theoretical Physics, the other one at ZARM (The Center for Applied Space Technology and Microgravity)in Bremen, the third at the Helmholtz Zentrum Berlin. - I completed one of my master thesises at the Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems (Fraunhofer ISE) in Freiburg. During my bachelor studies: I was working in the University Library. This job further developed my social and communication skills and taught me to efficiently help the people in getting what they require for their work. Additional Achievements: Member of the President's List at Jacobs University Bremen. Criteria: cumulative GPA of 1.5 or better, according to the German grading system. During high school: Math and Physics Competition. Most important award: First place on the National Physics Olympiad.

Availability

Weekdays after 7PM, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 45 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

Music/Dance: I have played the piano for 6 years and attended a musical school. However, I am really more into dancing and I have danced in versatile styles over the years. Sports: Running, Swimming, Chess: during my University studies I was part of the running club and I participated in various competitive races. I have participated also in chess tournaments in my high school. Other Interests: Art, Architecture, Literature and Psychology. At my University I attended a workshop called "Peer Listening Project" where we worked on listening techniques in order to understand the problems of our peers and help them out when they come to seek our help. Fun/Hobby: I am into puzzels and sudoku. I also like drawing, photography, writing and reading, but I also do not leave out movies or TV shows when I have the time to watch them.

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!