Ingrid tutors in Berlin, Germany

Ingrid S.

Private tutor in Berlin, Germany

Education

August 2015 - May 2017 Master of Public Policy candidate at the Hertie School of Governance in Berlin, Germany. ------------------------------------------------- August 2009 - February 2013 Dual degree Bachelor of Science in Biology and Anthropology, minor in Chemistry from Brandeis University in Waltham, Massachussets, USA. ------------------------------------------------- August 2005 - May 2009 International Baccalaureate diploma recipient; summa cum laude graduate (4.0 unweighted GPA or 1.0 on German scale) from University High School in Orlando, Florida, USA.

Experience

Previous teaching/tutoring experience: I have multiple years of experience teaching people of a variety of ages and backgrounds as well as working in different teaching styles and settings. In Berlin I have worked with students from the Berlin Metropolitan School (IB programme) and John F. Kennedy School. Previously, I spent two years working as a community health educator with the United States Peace Corps in Swaziland, Africa during which I held one-on-one English tutoring sessions with non-native English speakers (students were ages 9, 12 and 47 with various levels of English language ability) and taught about life skills and health issues in a classroom setting to non-native English speakers Grades 4-7. During my bachelor studies I planned and taught creative weekly lessons on environmental topics at a local pre-school. I also worked as a teaching assistant for an Emergency Medical Technician certification course for adults and interned at the Boston Museum Science for an interactive exhibit called “Design Challenges” with a strong focus on facilitation and teaching. Additionally, I speak very good German (raised in a bilingual household) and would be happy to work in both the English and German languages! SAT Scores: Math - 800 Critical reading - 710 Writing - 760 Essay - 12 Total: 2270/2400 (99th percentile) Subject test Math Level 2: 750 Subject test German: 800 International Baccalaureate scores: IB English Language and Literature HL - 6 IB Biology HL - 5 IB History of the Americas HL - 5 IB Mathematics SL - 6 IB Physics SL - 5 IB Latin SL - 6

Availability

Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I am an avid reader (my favorite author is Haruki Murakami), enjoy pretty much any outdoor activity (rock climbing, hiking, and scuba diving are favorites) and spending time with good friends and conversation. I'm curious about the world and firmly believe that there is something to be learned from every person, moment and experience around you. My academic interest areas are in global health, energy and the environment.

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!